You can work here in Qatar if you like, but leave your family behind please

I’m going to start with a disclaimer: I am not bashing Qatar, I’m sure the authorities here know what they are doing and can see the bigger picture, and please don’t say ‘If I don’t like it I should go home”. In fact you must believe me when I say I am pro Qatar.

But I don’t understand why it’s so difficult to bring your family to live with you here in Qatar. It’s not impossible, but it’s not easy and this year for me, some difficult to understand rules broke my family unit apart and returned me to bachelor status here. I’m not going into the details of my story because it’s private. But here I am, and half way around the world are the ones I want to be with.

In yesterdays Doha News Story and today’s Gulf Times Story you can read about the new requirements for placing children in schools. This confused me and prompted me to write this piece.

In 2012 the minimum wage required to bring your family to Qatar jumped from QR 7,000 to QR 10,000 Read The Story Here and that was a blow for many.

And then there are difficulties for women to sponsor their husbands Doha News Story

I would have thought that families being here would have many benefits including:-

  • Happy family – A man or woman happily settled here in Qatar with their family is surely going to make a happier more productive employee.
  • Benefit the economy – If your family are here, you are going to spend your money here instead of sending it home. Of course some is still going to be sent home, and some needs to be saved, but most will be spent right here in Qatar.
  • Growth of family friendly facilities – As more family friendly facilities are developed to cater for tourists, families residing here in Qatar would provide a steady usage for them throughout the year making them more viable.

And I’m sure there are many other benefits, but these are the ones off the top of my head.

So why does it appear as if Qatar are trying to make it difficult to bring your family here with you? The main rumor, and yes it is a rumor; is that there simply are not enough places in schools.

I don’t know what the reason is, and for me it’s too late and difficult to reverse the situation that has returned me to bachelor status here. So I am not moaning in the hope of changing something to benefit me. I am just concerned that Qatar is going to give fuel to the world media that are hungry to discredit Qatar with yet another story. I think clarity is the safest way to defuse a confusing story. If there are not enough school places, then say so, and say that is the reason they are trying to discourage families for a year or two while more schools are constructed. Instead of tweaking rues that make it seem like Qatar doesn’t want you to bring your family with you.

Come on Qatar. Try and help families stay together, increase local spending and reduce the imbalance of male/females here in your wonderful country.

Leave a Reply

