Hey Qatar Airways, your standards seem to be slipping @qatarairways

So in complete contrast to my pure luxury flight over to the Philippines for my Christmas vacation, when I got upgraded to business class free of charge courtesy of Qatar Airways. My return flight home to Qatar was lousy. No not infested with lice, it was inferior or second-rate / unpleasant or unacceptable depending on the dictionary definition you would prefer to use.

I am not comparing this Qatar Airways Economy flight with Qatar Airways Business Class. I am comparing it with previous Qatar Airways Economy Class flights.

Look nothing was disastrously wrong, but over the last couple of QA economy flights I have noticed a deterioration in standards. I flew QA because I am part of their loyalty program plus they fly direct to Manila. I can’t afford Business Class, so I along with everyone else in the back of the aircraft I endure 9 hours of discomfort. But this 9 hours of discomfort was made even more uncomfortable by the miserable cabin crew that was looking after my bit of the plane. Other crew seemed fine, but my flight attendant was incapable of cracking a smile, hardly used please, thank you or other polite terms and came across as one of my worst school teachers on a school coach trip. And I like to believe I handle people very well, so trust me when I say I was not a contributor to her poor performance or attitude. I was polite at all times, helpful where I could be and unlike her I was able to smile.

So service was poor, then there is the overhead luggage bin that wouldn’t close prior to take off. Not because it was full, but because it was faulty. Ground crew came and fixed it before the doors were closed. Then just prior to landing an overhead storage door randomly decided to open a couple of rows down just as we were on finals. The button to recline my seat was faulty and took great effort to operate for both reclining and placing my seat back in the upright position. I managed to operate it but hurt my thumb each time I did, and it must of annoyed the guy behind me as it normally took a couple of goes to get the seat where I wanted it. This wasn’t unique to me, I noticed others around me having similar problems, and they were getting disciplined by my rather off flight attendant for not getting their seat into the upright position in a timely fashion, even though they were trying hard to do so.

And what happened to the nuts we used to get with our beer? Have these been discontinued as a cost cutting exercise? Look the nuts we used to get were never amazing, but they were better than nothing. I have noticed their absence over my last couple of flights.

In summary the part of the aircraft where I was seemed tired and old. The nuts have disappeared and my flight attendant, well I don’t know how she got her job. Hardly a five star airline me thinks.

In summary the part of the aircraft where I was seemed tired and old. The nuts have disappeared and my flight attendant, well I don’t know how she got her job. Hardly a five star experience me thinks.

Leave a Reply

